10 Things That Will Lead to a Happier You

IMG_2899

I was thinking about a conversation I had with a mentor of mine recently and was trying to come up with 10 things I could start implementing in my life today that could make me a happier person. Things that could be easily added or changed in my life to help my stress levels lower and put a more constant smile on my face. After thinking about it, I figured that some of you are likely going through a similar journey of discovering the kind of person you want to be. So today I am sharing with you my 10 things. Maybe they will inspire you to make some changes yourselves!

 

1.Meditate- I have always loved meditation. Every time I am consistent in it, it’s like there is suddenly a huge weight lifted off of my shoulders. It’s like taking that time to gather and organize my thoughts and release some of my stress literally takes a weight off. I am committing to myself to meditate before bed again every night I am able to take a few minutes.

YogaWomanSilhouette-850x567

 

2.Cultivate Optimism- I am a very negative person sometimes. It’s almost like I am afraid to turn every corner because there is bound to be some bull shit around it. That needs to change. It is time for me to maintain a positive attitude and to remember that you attract what you are.

3.Practice Gratitude- This goes hand in hand with the above two bullets. Meditation for me breeds gracious thinking and gracious thinking breeds optimism! It’s simply that. I just need to remember to express my gratitude for everything I have in my life, both material and non. Because I have a pretty great life and I should be happy about it.

4.Practice Self-love – One thing that I constantly put on the bottom of my list of priorities is taking 20 minutes out of my day to practice self-love. And what I mean by this is taking a bit more time on my skin care routine or maybe doing a face mask and listening to a good playlist with a candle lit while I get ready for bed. Some things are so simple that you’d think they didn’t need to make this list but they do because that is how little I think of them. But I am deserving, damn it! I’m going to make sure that I am prioritizing that mani-pedi and glass of red wine!                                                  thTGK6X1XE

5.Ignore What Others Think and Say About You- I was bullied quite a bit in my younger years. Because of that, I tend to put the opinions of strangers on a pedestal when they belong no where near one. It’s time to put my needs and desires above what others believe I should do or not do. Hence my blog. It’s for me.

6.Let it Go- I know… you’re singing Frozen songs in your head now. Sorry… But really. I need to remember that not everything is a big deal. I don’t need to hold grudges and I definitely don’t need to remember an argument from 6 years and 5 days ago to bring up in tomorrow’s argument with my husband. Like Buddha once said, “Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.” So I’m letting it all go.

7.Surround Yourself With People You Want To Be Like- It is a well known and studied idea that you are a combination of your 5 closest friends. So why hang out with shitty people with no life? I need to make it a priority to surround myself with positive, fun-loving people who not only have goals but want the best for me and each other as well.                

                                                                               Cast-friends-6573035-400-333

8.Invest In A Hobby- I have this one covered. I started my blog for this reason; to be creative and to discover and express my interests. I wanted to branch out and get out of my comfort zone. My goal for this blog is to post once a week for the entire year of 2018. I want something to look back on and see how I have grown.

9.Go Outside- This seems so stupid so other people I bet. Especially since I live in debatably the most amazing state in the country. Being a Colorado Native you would think I love hiking, skiing, and so on but I hate it . Immensely. So I am making it a goal to get out in nature once a week. It could be as simple as taking a long walk with my dog, or something a little bit more unlike me and going hiking with my husband.

thQQU5SPD3

10.Enjoy Your Journey- There will always be roadblocks and obstacles in life. And instead of freaking out every time I am inconvenienced I want to take some time to evaluate the events that lead up to that situation and the options I have to get out of it. There is a plan in place for my life and I just need to enjoy the ride!

XOXO

 

2 thoughts on “10 Things That Will Lead to a Happier You

Leave a comment